Home -> Cattle Competitions -> Three big competitions

Three big competitions

Australia's best beef cattle in three big competitions

Showcasing to the world the best beef cattle Australia has to offer is at the core of Beef Australia’s existence. As such, the cattle competitions are at the heart of the Beef 2012 program, with events including live stud cattle judging, commercial cattle classes, junior judging and paraders, led steers and carcase competitions.

Ruralco/CRT Australian Beef Cattle Championships



More than 2000 head of quality commercial cattle are expected be judged on Monday, 7 May 2012, at the Central Queensland Livestock Exchange (CQLX) at Gracemere.  

Placegetters in the competition will be announced at a gala dinner at Beef Australia 2012 that night. On Tuesday, 8 May 2012, CQLX will host the Sale of Champions and a Feature Sale, which will attract many livestock buyers and interested parties. 

Entries for the Championships have now CLOSED. The Schedule containing full details of competition classes, prizes and the conditions of entry are available here

More information is available via CattleOnline or within the nomination form or by contact nominating agents Landmark, Elders, Savage Barker & Backhouse, and Hourn & Bishop.  

Young commercial judges

The event will also feature a young commercial judges competition. The competition will be conducted for three age categories: 12-15 years; 15-18 years; and 18-21 years.

Competitors will be required to judge four pens on conformation, muscling, market suitability and evenness of the pen. Points will be awarded for the order in which these pens are placed. The top five in each age category will be selected to comment on the pens judged.

The competitor with the overall highest number of points will receive the Jan Sinclair Memorial Perpetual Trophy. Winners of each age category will receive a trophy. Presentation of awards will occur at 3pm following the announcement of the Ruralco/CRT Australian Beef Cattle Champions.

Entry forms are available for download hereENTRIES CLOSE at 12pm Monday, 7 May 2012, with the competition commencing at 12:30pm.

For more information contact Rebecca Reid at Beef Australia.

ANZ National Beef Carcase Competition



Beef producers from around Australia have a unique opportunity to benchmark their product on a national level by entering this competition which has been developed from the Australian Beef Carcase Appraisal System (ABCAS).

With participating processors in every state this is truly a national competition.

Placegetters in the competition will be announced at a gala dinner at Beef Australia 2012 on Tuesday, 8 May 2012.

Entries for the Competition have now CLOSED. The last available slaughter date was March 31.

Further inquiries should be directed to Jackie Kyte at Beef Australia.

Landmark Stud Cattle Championships



Nominations for the prestigious stud cattle Championships attracts entries from around Australia and features more than 30 breeds which are judged over three days (Tuesday, May 8 through to Thursday, May 10, 2012).  A fourth day, Friday May 11, 2012, showcases the junior stud events – Young Paraders, School Teams Judging and Young Judges.

A Competition Schedule, including prizes and conditions of entry, is available. Nomination for stud classes CLOSED on Friday 3 February.

However, registered entrants can continue to use the Cattle Online site to update their details. 

Nominations remain OPEN for the Junior Judging, School Teams Judging and Young Paraders competitions.

  • Note for exhibitors: the April edition of Beef Australia 2012 Stud News is available here, which includes the Rockhampton Showgrounds layout, the Cattle Tick Prelimary Treatment Declaration, the Beef Australia 2012 At A Glance Program and a summary of entertainment highlights.

Further inquiries should be directed to Stud Cattle Coordinator Rebecca Reid at Beef Australia. 

Judging Timetable

Date Breed Judge Time Ring


May 8

Junior Led Steers Rhett Mobbs 9am 5
Angus Reade Radel 9.30am 4
Braford Lindsey Dingle, Sam Schottelies (associate) 10am 1
Limousin Stephen Branson, Corey Evans (associate) 10am 2
Poll Hereford/Hereford Alastair Day 10am 3
Murray Grey David Bondfield 1pm 3
Lowline David Greenup 1.30pm 5
Gelbvieh Terry Connor 2pm 2
Dexter Brett Weick 2.15pm 1
Square Meaters Rodney Freeman 2.30pm 4
Piedmontese Rodney Freeman 3pm 4
Belgian Blue Rodney Freeman 3.15pm 4


May 9

Brangus Brett Nobbs 7.30am 1
Brahmans Ben Hewitt 7.30am 2
Droughtmasters Rick Greenup, Aleisha Finger (associate) 7.30am 3
Romagnolas Rodney Freeman 8am 5
Santa Gertrudis Scott Dunlop 9.45am 5
Charbray Andrew Mactaggart 1.30pm 5


May 10

Charolais Spencer Morgan 7.30am 1
Simmental David Greenup, Jodie Sanguinetti (associate)  7.30am 2
Red Angus Andrew Bassingthwaighte 7.30am 3
Shorthorn Burnett Fahey 7.30am 4
Bazadais Brett Kinnon 7.30am 5
Senepol Burnett Fahey 10.30am 4
Pinzgauers Brett Kinnon 10.30am 5
Red Poll Steve Reid 10.45am 5
Blonde D'Aquitaine Reade Radel 11am 3
Sahiwal Andrew Mactaggart 12.30pm 3
Simbrah David Greenup 1pm 2
Devon Steve Reid 1pm 5
Speckle Park Andrew Mactaggart 1.30pm 3
South Devon Steve Reid 1.30pm 5
INTERBREED Rhett Mobbs, James Laurie and John Coleman-Locke 3pm  


Major Sponsors
Australian Government Meat & Livestock Australia Rockhampton Regional Council More Sponsors...


Copyright © 2011 Beef Australia
Designed & maintained by FMSTUDIOS | SITEMAP